“Unable to load client print control” in Reporting Services 2005


The user gets a dialog stating “Unable to load client print control” when clicking the print button on a Reporting Services 2005 report.

There much written about this and what Microsoft update broke this so I won’t repeat it here. (Google – reporting services “Unable to load client print control”)

The bottom line is that there’s an update that added a “kill-bit” associated to the ActiveX printing control used by Reporting Services. There’s an update to Reporting Services that supposedly fixes this http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=82833f27-081d-4b72-83ef-2836360a904d&DisplayLang=en

OR you can uninstall these 2 updates KB956803 & KB956391

OR you can just delete the registry entry causing the problem
Copy the red text below into a file with a REG file extension and double-click it

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\ActiveX Compatibility\{FA91DF8D-53AB-455D-AB20-F2F023E498D3}]

34 Responses to ““Unable to load client print control” in Reporting Services 2005”

  1. suman Says:

    I have deleted the key {FA91DF8D-53AB-455D-AB20-F2F023E498D3} in Registry Editor , and issue is solved.
    thanks for the solution….

  2. manu Says:

    Thanks very much for the post! After a couple of days trying everything to fix this annoying issue, deleting the registry entry just worked fine.

  3. Darrell Says:

    I have tried removing the key and it is still giving me “unabled to load print control”. Do you have to reboot the server in order for the fix to work?

    Thank you.

    • Kerry Says:

      The key needs to be removed on the client. Not the server.

      • Darrell Says:

        Thank you. I removed the key on the client and it prompts me for the install. It then installs the activeX client but after the client installs, it give me the “unable to load print control” again. If I click on the print button again, it will prompts me to install the client again. When I do, it still displays “unable to load print control”. Very frustrating. Am I missing something? I am logged into the machine as a workstation admin.

        Thank you.

      • Kerry Says:

        That should work. Try rebooting after you remove the key.

  4. Darrell Says:

    Thank you for your help. Removing the key on the client was the fix. My issue was that I upgraded my SSRS server with SQL Server 2005 SP3 and when I migrated my web app to VS 2008 I didn’t change my Report viewer from the 8.0 to the 9.0 object. Once I upgrade the report viewer (making sure the web.config was properly registered with the 9.0 object), I recompiled the web app, and it started working.

    Once again, thank you for your time.

  5. Harry Yeh Says:

    You da man! This fixed the problem!

  6. Sim Says:

    I follow your step copy the text below into a file with a REG file extension and double-click it

    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\ActiveX Compatibility\{FA91DF8D-53AB-455D-AB20-F2F023E498D3}]

    Then,I restart my pc. Same as Darrel,i facing the problems,
    It prompt installs the activeX client but after click installs, it give me the “unable to load print control” again. If click on the print button again, it will prompts me to install the client again.

    • Kerry Says:

      Make sure the key was removed in the registry. Run RegEdit and browse to the entry. If it’s still there, delete it in RegEdit.
      Darrell was running it on the server instead of the client.

      • Sim Says:

        Hi Kerry,

        I am running it on my own machine not on the server. Yesterday i run RegEdit and browse to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\ActiveX Compatibility folder but not found it.

        I try to search and found that it appear in another location HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-29891675-799227617-402028614-15720\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Ext\Stats\{FA91DF8D-53AB-455D-AB20-F2F023E498D3} which i not sure whether i should delete this.

  7. carrie Says:

    Thank you. This worked for me.

  8. Marcus Says:

    Worked when removing the registry key and restarting internet explorer.

  9. Eduardo Says:

    None of the provided solutions worked here.

    Any new suggestions?

  10. Sim Says:

    Problem get solved after contact MS support, found out that nothing wrong with SP3 and report server, what i had omitted is applying the Report Viewer Redistribution 2008 SP1 on web server. If web server and report server reside in same machine and you have apply the patches, then shouldn’t facing the problem but if in different machine, then you have to apply it separately.

    MS doesn’t encourage to change/remove anything from registry. You can based on this KB articles http://support.microsoft.com/?id=967511 to determine which report viewer version you should apply. Hope that help. Thanks.

  11. Scorfiled Says:

    Running the registry file worked for me..But In another machine I ran the Redistributable 2005 Service Pack 1..(without running the registry file)..But it did not solve the issue.Only registry file running seems to be the solution..

    Since it is not good to delete registries..is there a much better way to over come this problem?

    • Sim Says:

      Scorfiled,

      You need install the Report Viewer Redistributable on web machine, not on client/own machine.

      If your SQL server version is SQL 2005 SP2 , then you have to install this hotfix ‘Cumulative update package 9 for SQL Server 2005 Service Pack 2 (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/953752/)’ in your production machine too.

      • Scorfiled Says:

        Thankx maan..I ll try to install it(Cumulative update package 9 for SQL Server 2005 Service Pack 2) and see…
        BTW I installed the Report Viewer Redistributable on server machine(not client machine)..

  12. Nick Says:

    Thank you very much. I tried everything, but nothing seemed to work.

    I created the REG file as you said and ran it and it now prints without that annoying message.

    Note: You need to reboot after you run the REG file.

  13. Nick Says:

    Oops, a slight problem came up after running the REG file.
    Now Automatic updates wants me to install “Cumulative Security Update for ActiveX killbits for Windows XP” and “Security Update for Report Viewer Redistributable 2005 Service Pack 1”. If I install it brings me back to square one, if I don’t, I have to live with the automatic update shield icon and remember not to install these two.

    Perhaps the workaround should be this:
    1. From the “Select a format” listbox, select “Web archive”.
    2. Click “Export”
    3. When it asks “Do you want to open or save this file?” click “Open”.
    4. This will open a new window with all the data that you can print from the browser.

  14. Usha Says:

    Hi

    I am facing the problem “Unable to load client print conrol” only in few client machine(works fine with other machines). When looking for the registry, i could not find the registry in the path given in regedit.

  15. Grim Re-pear Says:

    I’m guessing this is microsoft’s way of forcing people to upgrade to sharepoint 2008. We have had issues at our company for the last half year with this bug, and no matter what we do, it keeps popping up again. What a joke of an OS, when crippling bugs like this are just .. accepted. In 15 years hopefully the work place will have adopted proper operating systems and technology, till then I just deal with MickeySoft.

  16. Virat Kothari Says:

    You have saved my life. I found the same problem when tried to configure reporting sevices on windows server 2008. Thank you very much. Keep sharing knowledge.

  17. Don Says:

    Thank you so much. I removed the Registry entry and it worked instantly without closing IE

  18. orson Says:

    I done the 3 solution above, i manage to print.
    After i reboot the client pc, i cant print anymore, and given an msg ” An error occured during printing. (0x800706BA)”
    I google this message but seem no solution….
    any one have idea on this?

  19. Rehan Says:

    i ve Sql Server 2005 for Reporing and getting data frm sql server 2000 and using vs 2005 (.net 2.0). I did all but unable to get print however when i click the print button it takes some time (it seems the print control is going to load) and after some time it shows “unable to load client print control”
    i ve install reportviewer but nothing happend
    I ve remove the register entry
    I ve uninstaill only updates KB956803 because i didnt find KB956391 update.
    Please help me out.

  20. Schedule Says:

    Best you should edit the blog name title “Unable to load client print control” in Reporting Services 2005 Kerry’s MOSS Blog to more better for your subject you make. I enjoyed the post all the same.

  21. John Says:

    I had the same problem for an individual user. The problem was the Print control could not be installed because they were not an Admin. When I signed on as an ADmin, I was able to install it and then they were able to use it with their signon

  22. JoeyC Says:

    Encountered this problem also. I downloaded the Report Viewer Redistributable, install and restarted the workstation. When i click the print control it prompts me for the install. It then installs the activeX client and then i was able to print now the report

    Many thanks for the solution

  23. Ravi Krian Says:

    you are awesome bro.. its worked well.. great post thanks

  24. Anonymous Says:

    Thank you!

  25. turkish law firm Says:

    You ought to be a part of a contest for one of the finest sites on the net. I most certainly will highly recommend this web site!

  26. Jason Says:

    Hello would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re working with?
    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different internet browsers and I must say
    this blog loads a lot quicker then most. Can you suggest
    a good hosting provider at a honest price? Thank you,
    I appreciate it!


Leave a Reply

