Fix “Edit this task” In Outlook 2007


If you’ve used some of the out of box workflows in MOSS you’ve probably seen the email sent to approvers. The workflow creates a task, assigns it to the user and sends an email notification. When viewing the email in Outlook 2007 there is a button on the toolbar for editing the task. Viewing the email in any other email program will display the “Edit this task” as a link in the body of the email.

The problem is that the “Edit this task” button in Outlook 2007 doesn’t work some of the time. Clicking the button does nothing. This is apparently related to Outlook 2007 using InfoPath to display the approve/reject form. This form contains a CLSID of {00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000}. This CLSID is apparently “kill bitted” on some systems and is prevented from being displayed.

What’s the fix? Delete the registry key for that CLSID.
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\ActiveX Compatibility\{00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000}

32 Responses to “Fix “Edit this task” In Outlook 2007”

  1. Gloriann Says:

    Thank you. This works perfect. The Edit this Task button worked for awhile and then stopped. I don’t know what I did to cause this to happen. It has stopped working for all people on my team. Does anyone know if it will come back again.

    Also, how do I correct this problem. I don’t want all these people going into their registries.

  2. Kerry Says:

    I created a file with a .REG extension and the text below. You can put the REG file in a ZIP file and email it to anyone with the problem. Double-clicking the file will remove the registry entry.

    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\ActiveX Compatibility\{00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000}]

  3. Bill Says:

    I had this trouble also, the fix also worked. I had some other issues that seemed ActiveX related, and it started after a download of Adobe 9 from the Acrobate web site. This download also included Adobe Air (without my approval). I cannot say for sure, but, it seems this was related to the issue.

  4. Tom Says:

    Perfect fix…. Even had the Microsoft Sharepoint Guru’s stumped so I did a Goole Search and found this. THANKS

  5. Asif Says:

    Hi, i have starnge problem, i made it working, but clicking this butoon points to sharepoint web page, but i need a dialog to be opened on OUtlook 2007 as i have seen provided my MS. Any suggestion?
    Thanks

  6. Jim Ye Says:

    Thanks man…this was driving me crazy!!

    Cheers

  7. jingypot Says:

    I tried this and it works perfect. Thanks.

    • siva Says:

      Hi Kerry,

      I am facing same issue with Edit this task button.
      I am trying to delete registry key as you suggested. But
      I am unable to find HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\ActiveX Compatibility\{00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000} registry file.

      I am using office 2007 standard version.

      Can you please suggest where can i find the registry or is there any other solution.

      Advance Thanks,
      Siva.

      • Kerry Says:

        That’s the only fix that I am aware of for this problem

      • Chris Says:

        I am having the same problem company wide now. I have tried to do this on multiple PCs but I too can not find the reg key you refer to.

  8. AnneMarie Says:

    I am having the same issue… I do not have the mentioned entry in my registry file. Any other work arounds?

    Thanks!

  9. Chris Smoke Says:

    I just spent the last 3 to 4 weeks troubleshooting this issue with Microsoft and we came to a resolution.

    We are using:
    Exchange Server 2007
    Microsoft Office SharePoint Server 2007
    Outlook 2007

    You will need to check with your Exchange Server administrator and make sure the following X-Headers are not being stripped or blocked.

    X-Sharing-WSSBaseUrl
    X-AlertWebSoap
    X-Sharing-ItemID
    X-Sharing-Remote-Uid
    X-Sharing-Config-Url
    X-AlertServerType
    X-AlertWebUrl
    X-AlertId
    X-AlertTitle
    X-Sharing-Title

    Good luck, I hope this works for you too.

    • Steve Says:

      Do you know how to do this, specifically? I’ve tried allowing relaying for the Sharepoint server. Using Exchange 2010 and Outlook 2007.

  10. AnneMarie Says:

    My IT Guy was able to get it to work for us… Here is what he said: “It looks like the mail gateway was stripping out the header information that provides the parameters for the button. I’ve excluded the sharepoint-notification FROM address from message reconstruction. ”

    So basically what Chris said above will work. 🙂

  11. How to fix non working “Edit this task” button of SharePoint workflow notice in Outlook and InfoPath 2007 | WebGuru’s Blog about Digital Life Says:

    […] to Kerry’s MOSS blog: This is apparently related to Outlook 2007 using InfoPath to display the approve/reject form. This […]

  12. annon Says:

    Gr8 – Thanks – Perfect fix – worked with outlook 2007 pro

  13. Jeff Says:

    This solution does not address the issue on a Windows 7 client. Has anyone successfully addressed this problem on a Win7 client? I have edited the registry and confirmed that the X- headers on on the message upon arrival. However, the button still does nothing.

  14. links for 2010-11-02 « Jet Grrl Says:

    […] Fix “Edit this task” In Outlook 2007 « Kerry’s MOSS Blog (tags: sharepoint) […]

  15. Philipp Says:

    Ive the same problem under Win7/OL2010.
    But i cannot found the mentioned key under “HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\ActiveX Compatibility\”

    Kind Regards
    Philipp

  16. Anonymous Says:

    Hi, very good website on this niche. I found it on Google. I will surely save it and come back to read it. If you accept a little bit of critique – it needs some iPhone 4S work on the lookpart 🙂

  17. Anonymous Says:

    This resolved the problem with Win XP Pro and Outlook 2010 Pro. Thank you very much.

  18. Phil Says:

    I’m getting some users who don’t even get the “Edit this task” button. It doesn’t show up at all. Any ideas? Office 2007. SharePoint 2007. InfoPath 2007. Windows XP SP3.

  19. Brian Says:

    Works on Windows 7 Outlook 2010!!!!
    One note: To test on a system that it was working on I added the CLSID and then added a DWORD under it with a value of 400 (Thats a kill bit). This allowed me to reproduce the problem.
    Then I simply deleted it to fix the issue.

    • jorge villamizar Says:

      Hi Brian!,

      Can u please tell me step by step your procedure? I have still the same problem and I don’t know what else to do!

      Thanks!

      • Anonymous Says:

        1. click Start–>Run–> Type “Regedit” and hit enter
        1a Regeditor comes up
        2. Then navigathe to: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\ActiveX Compatibility\{00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000}
        3. Delete the key (looks like a folder) that is named {00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000}
        4.The restart Outlook

  20. propertycow Says:

    Nice read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing some
    research on that. And he

    just bought me lunch because I found it for him smile Thus let me rephrase that:

    Thanks for lunch!

  21. consejosparapapa.com Says:

    Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It actually was once a leisure account it.
    Glance complicated to

    far delivered agreeable from you! By the way,
    how could we communicate?

  22. Halley Says:

    Thank you, I have just been looking for info about this

    subject for ages and yours is the best I’ve discovered so far. But, what about the

    bottom line? Are you sure about the source?

  23. wdfw fishing regulations 2012 Says:

    You can certainly see your expertise within the work you

    write. The sector hopes for even more passionate writers such as
    you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. At all times follow your heart.

  24. Diana Says:

    I have been searching for a solution for a while. I tried this:
    1. click Start–>Run–> Type “Regedit” and hit enter
    1a Regeditor comes up
    2. Then navigathe to: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\ActiveX Compatibility\{00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000}
    3. Delete the key (looks like a folder) that is named {00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000}
    4.The restart Outlook

    but I did not find the {00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000} folder. I have a 64-bit pc, so instead i tried this:
    1. Click Start->Run->Type C:\Windows\SysWOW64\regedt32.exe
    2. Then navigathe to: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\ActiveX Compatibility\{00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000}
    3. Delete the key (looks like a folder) that is named {00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000}
    4. The restart Outlook
    This worked for me. Finally the Open this task button works in Outlook!!!!


Leave a Reply

