SharePoint Solution Generator Tips


I wanted to create a custom site definition so that I could create custom site collections. After some research I discovered there was a lot of messy, manual XML work involved. So I found the SharePoint Solution Generator (SSG) on the Microsoft site (download). This is exactly what I was looking for!
The SSG will take a customized site and create a Visual Studio 2005 project with all of the code necessary to create a new site definition. It even has an automated solution deployment.

I installed it on a test system and ran the SSG. I hit next to create a new site definition and it came back after a few minutes with an out of memory error message. I found out the first thing it does is enumerate all of the sites on your web application and populate a tree view control. I had too many sites…

My easy solution to this problem (on a test server) was to remove all of the content databases that didn’t contain the site I wanted to use as a template for my site definition. This might work for some of you but I still had too many sites so I created a temporary content database and site collection. I then created a sub-site using the site template I needed. (Whatever works for you.)
Found out you can also just remove the content database that stores the root site collection for the web application.

Now I could select the sub-site I wanted to use for my site definition. I selected the site, selected the lists I wanted and clicked Finish. Now I get an error “No SharePoint Site exists at the specified URL”. With a little digging I found that the wizard doesn’t work with Basic authentication! I added Integrated Security to the site in IIS and ran the wizard again. That did the trick.

Now I just need to figure out why none of my customized lists and libraries are not showing on the Quick Launch by default. (The XML files have the property set to TRUE.)

Hope this helps someone…

93 Responses to “SharePoint Solution Generator Tips”

  1. Chinna Says:

    Hi,

    Am have Dev server. and running .net and VSeWSSv11 and share point from VM ware on my box.

    i tried all of the options and solution available on line.

    but non of them worked. including the above solution.

    any new idea or solution will help

    thanks

  2. Kerry Says:

    What exactly is your issue? Are you running out of memory when you click Next?

  3. Edward Says:

    No this doesn’t help. My situation almost exactly the opposite. The treeview does not show ANY of the sharepoint sites. When I enter the URL hardcoded, then the generator sees all the lists on the site. But when I get to the finish page I get No SharePoint site exists at the specified URL.” IIS is already set to Integrated authenication. I added in basic authenication. No difference.

  4. microsoft points Says:

    It really is truly an incredible and also practical little bit of info. We are pleased which you provided this convenient data around. Make sure you keep us up to par like that. Thank you for revealing.

  5. cara menghilangkan captcha di Kaskus Says:

    I just could not leave your web site prior to suggesting that I really loved the standard information an individual provide in your
    guests? Is going to be again frequently in order to check out
    new posts

  6. download free wii games Says:

    I am sure this post has touched all the internet users, its really
    really nice article on building up new web site.

  7. http://musclebigz.com/ Says:

    All right next up getting g a little crazy and extreme
    but to be honest, that was seriously build muscle life
    changing. This is actually the result of the high fat content so use in moderation.
    I have a break-through solution build muscle for you! Thus, the faster you’re going to
    have a bigger throttle body and the plenum, that way you
    can allow your muscles to the point where you can hang from.

  8. good search engine optimization company Says:

    Making Connections   The internet enabled a company to instantly make
    available its goods or services to its customer. We also provide information about Internet Marketing,
    Web Designing, Web Development, SEo Services, Local Optimization,
    PPC Campaigns. I admire Stephen and the path in which he took to get become the #1
    internet marketer.

  9. Cecelia Says:

    Hi colleagues, how is all, and what you wish for
    to say concerning this article, in my view its genuinely remarkable for me.

  10. online marketing Says:

    Ӏgot this website fгom my buddy who informed mme about this web site annd at thhe moment this time I am visiting thiѕ web
    page and reading ѵery informative content here.

  11. chefneeds restaurant supply Says:

    Heyy there! I’ve been following your weblog for some time now and finally got
    the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Dallas Texas!
    Just wanted to say keep up the good job!

  12. free content for a blog Says:

    I was recommended this web site by my cousin. I’m not sure whether
    this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about
    my difficulty. You are amazing! Thanks!

  13. free method to get your own free spotify premium code Says:

    If a director and as the job inorder to get reviews on-line under the stock ticker
    GRPN, Pandora and former documents are disjointed across
    hard rock hotel las vegas’s products. Pandora is great because you can use it to
    discover new artists. A funny detail is that we can start a local scan of
    the local or USB-connected devices which categorizes files on them in
    the menu selections film, music and images in the interface.

  14. articles Says:

    You actually make it seem really easy along with your presentation however I to find this matter to
    be really one thing which I feel I might never understand.
    It sort of feels too complex and extremely extensive for me.
    I am taking a look ahead to your subsequent put up, I’ll try to
    get the cling of it!

  15. alloy wheel Refurbishment Hitchin Says:

    Ahaa, its nice dialogue concerning this piece of
    writing here at this website, I habe read all that, sso now
    mme also commenting at this place.

  16. professional website design Says:

    I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your blogs really nice,
    keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site
    to come back later on. Cheers

  17. metareporter.nl Says:

    It’s difficult to find well-informed people on this topic, however, you seem like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks

  18. hidradenitis suppurativa pictures 1 stage Says:

    Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you writing this article plus the rest of the website
    is also very good.

  19. elevated potassium levels Says:

    Latest updates in hyperkalemia management, updated blog must visit ..

    hyperkalemiablog.

  20. Maid Right Home Cleanin Says:

    Washing the home is a fundamental first necessity to have great house cleaning abilities.
    There are some companies that manufacture green cleaning products as a safer answer to conventional brands.
    It is the most popular technique of cleaning carpet.

  21. buy youtube views articles Says:

    I am extremely inspired wkth your writing skills as well as with the structure on
    your weblog. Is this a paid topic or did you customize it yourself?

    Eithber wayy keep up the nice high quality writing, itt is uncommon to see a
    nice weblog like this one today..

  22. Monserrate Says:

    Hey! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against
    hackers? I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on.
    Any tips?

  23. http://planethackteam.com/ Says:

    Today, I went to the beach with my children. I found a sea
    shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put
    the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside
    and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back!
    LoL I know this is entirely off topic but I had to tell someone!

  24. boob job price Says:

    Great beat ! I wish to apprentice at the same time as you amend your
    web site, how can i subscribe for a blog website?
    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast
    offered bright clear concept

  25. Kristina Says:

    Hi there, this weekend is nice iin favor of me, as this point
    in time i am reading this great educational post here at my residence.

  26. SEO Says:

    It’s impressive that you are getting thoughts from this
    post as well as from our dialogue made at this place.

  27. Julian Says:

    Hello, yup this piece of writing is in fact nice and I
    have learned lot of things from it concerning blogging.
    thanks.

  28. Berniece Says:

    Wonderful post! We will be linking to this particularly great
    content on our site. Keep up the good writing.

  29. weed vaporizer vs joint Says:

    This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your
    feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post.
    Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

  30. clinical psychology rutgers Says:

    Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this web site before but after browsing through many of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m certainly delighted I stumbled upon it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back often!

  31. work performance measurements Says:

    It’s really very complex in this active life to listen news on TV, therefore I just
    use the web for that purpose, and take the hottest news.

  32. michael lupolover Says:

    Somebody necessarily lend a hand to make seriously posts
    I might state. This is the first time I frequented your website page and so far?

    I surprised with the analysis you made to create this particular put up incredible.Fantastic task!

  33. Creampie Says:

    Today, I went to the beach front with my kids. I found a sea shell
    and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She
    placed the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and
    it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back!
    LoL I know this is completely off topic but I had to tell someone!

  34. Kelli Says:

    Hi, every time i used to check website posts here in the early hours
    in the morning, since i like to find out more and more.

  35. health and healing Says:

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate
    to this excellent blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to new updates and will talk about this site
    with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

  36. seo company Says:

    Good post. I learn something totally nnew aand challenging on websites
    I sstumbleupon everyday. It will always be helpful to read
    through content from other authors and use something from their web sites.

  37. organic chocolate whey protein Says:

    Good post. I learn something new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon every day.
    It will always be useful to read through articles from other authors and practice something from their websites.

  38. Big Drop Inc Says:

    I need to to thank you for this fantastic read!! I absolutely enjoyed
    every little bit of it. I hav you saved as a favorite to ook at new thikngs you post…

  39. web page Says:

    My family members all the time say that I am wasting my time here at net, except I know I am
    getting experience daily by reading thes nice content.

  40. tumblr.com Says:

    Coolе Informationen ѕind hieг zu entdecken. Bin durchaus erfreut.

  41. Zamurai Video Editor review Says:

    This is very attention-grabbing, You are a very professional blogger.

    I have joined your feed and stay up for seeking extra of your magnificent post.
    Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks

  42. dumpsters Says:

    We stumbled over here from a different web page and thought I may as well check things out.

    I like what I see so now i am following you.
    Look forward to checking out your web page again.

  43. klik Here Says:

    Hey There. I discovered your blog using msn.
    That is a really neatly written article. I’ll make sure to
    bookmark it and come back to read extra of your helpful information.
    Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely return.

  44. water pipes in empty house Says:

    I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your sites
    really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and
    bookmark your site to come back later. All the best

  45. Florencia Says:

    I think the admin of this site is truly working hard in support of his
    web page, since here every information is quality based material.

  46. juegos de cocinar Says:

    This app brings you the recipe site’s contents and features right on your
    i – Phone. You actually act out the process of cooking a meal by slicing vegetables,
    frying and adding ingredients into a pot. There are some
    lessons in cooking game to teach girl Childs about the arrangement of plate, spoon, fork, etc on
    a dining table and inside a kitchen.

  47. how to lose belly fat Says:

    I am no longer certain where you are getting your information, but great
    topic. I must spend some time finding out much more or figuring out more.

    Thanks for excellent information I was searching for this info for my mission.

  48. Guillermo Says:

    Hi, I log on to your blg on a regular basis. Your story-telling
    tyle is awesome, keep doing what you’re doing!

  49. granbury roofing company Says:

    The recyclable materials can be used in conjunction
    with the use of green natural materials used in the construction of the already environmentally friendly dwellings.
    Never hire a roof contractor that can not supply you with a list of satisfied customers.

    Talk to the homeowners who have appointed the said contractor
    to repair their roof and ask if they are happy with the service.

  50. antalya nakliye firmaları Says:

    Its not my first time to pay a quick visit this website, i am browsing this site dailly and get pleasant facts from here everyday.

  51. penomet review Says:

    After I originally commented I seem to have clicked on the
    -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now
    on each time a comment is added I receive four emails with the same comment.
    There has to be a means you can remove me
    from that service? Many thanks!

  52. Buster Says:

    Hurrah! Finally I got a web site from where I know how to truly take
    helpful information regarding my study and knowledge.

  53. email marketing free tools Says:

    Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Many thanks, However I am having troubles with your RSS.
    I don’t understand why I am unable to join it. Is there anybody getting the same
    RSS problems? Anyone that knows the solution will you
    kindly respond? Thanx!!

  54. Gudrun Says:

    Hi there to every single one, it’s genuinely a good for
    me to pay a visit this website, it consists of priceless Information.

  55. Online Dating Genie Says:

    Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and
    found that it is really informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels.
    I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  56. Example Says:

    I do not even understand how I ended up right here, but I believed this submit was good.
    I do not knbow who you might be however certainly you’re going to a well-known blogger iin the event you are
    not already. Cheers!

  57. Orval Says:

    Hey! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group?
    There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy
    your content. Please let me know. Cheers

  58. sprawdzian genetyka gimnazjum nowa era Says:

    Hey! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to
    make your site mobile friendly? My web site looks weird when browsing from my apple iphone.
    I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able to
    resolve this issue. If you have any recommendations, please share.

    With thanks!

  59. best blogs to make money Says:

    Very descriptive blog, I enjoyed that a lot. Will there
    be a part 2?

  60. http://mkgseo-com.pl/ Says:

    This article will assist the internet visitors for setting
    up new web site or even a blog from start to end.

  61. play 2048 game online Says:

    Howdy! This post couldn’t be written any better!
    Reading through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!

    He constantly kept preaching about this. I’ll send this
    post to him. Fairly certain he’s going to have a great read.
    Many thanks for sharing!

  62. czarownica online Says:

    An intriguing discussion is worth comment. I believe
    that you should publish more on this subject matter, it may not be a taboo matter but generally people do not discuss such
    issues. To the next! Kind regards!!

  63. Niezgodna film Says:

    You actually make it appear really easy with your
    presentation but I find this matter to be actually something which I think I’d
    by no means understand. It seems too complicated and extremely broad for
    me. I am looking ahead on your next post, I’ll attempt to get the dangle of it!

  64. Rhys Says:

    Good answers in return of this query with real arguments and explaining all on the topic of that.

  65. unit link terbaik di Indonesia Commonwealth Life investra link Says:

    Hi, I do think this is an excellent web site.
    I stumbledupon it 😉 I am going to return yet again since
    i have saved as a favorite it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change,
    may you be rich and continue to help other people.

  66. arvixe coupon Says:

    The company also provides its clients with good Web Hosting Deals, Offers & Coupon Codes.
    In – Motion Net Hosting is 1 such business that avails itself to mom-and-pop corporations and bigger corporations alike having
    a selection of service plans which particularly provide for specific wants.
    These methods will help key phrase customers to ring up web sites which
    are responding to unique seek requests.

  67. plantar fasciitis Says:

    Pain usually starts at the bottom of the foot and radiates into the arch
    of the foot. That would certainly be annoying, not to mention
    unproductive. The plantar fascia is the tissue that connects your heel
    to your toes.

  68. helpouts Says:

    I was recommended this website by my cousin.
    I am not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my difficulty.
    You are amazing! Thanks!

  69. http://jesterskorea.com/?c=loc&mcd=jkf0004&me=comment&idx=100018&grpIdx=&pIdx=&sParam=&viewFlag=02 Says:

    I think the admin of this web site is truly working hard in support of his site,
    for the reason that here every information is quality
    based data.

  70. how to remove cellulite Says:

    Hi, I want to subscribe for this blog to take most up-to-date updates, so where can i do it please assist.

  71. Patrick Kelly Says:

    Hey there! Do you know if they make any plugins to
    protect against hackers? I’m kinda paranoid about
    losing everything I’ve worked hard on. Any recommendations?

  72. ropa bebe online Says:

    Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Thank you so much, However I am having issues with your
    RSS. I don’t know why I can’t join it. Is there anybody getting the
    same RSS problems? Anyone who knows the solution will you kindly respond?
    Thanks!!

  73. Colby Jansen Says:

    Hmm is anyone else having problems with the pictures on this
    blog loading? I’m trying to find out if its a problem
    on my end or if it’s the blog. Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.

  74. news Says:

    Introducing The Alien Warp Submitter. Five Day Blast to people actually interested in what you are
    selling. Collected from network message boards, personal message boards,blogs,FFA single pages and FFA networks.
    Purchase today and you’ll Receive a Contact-Email to 500,
    000 UNIQUE Prospects, the ION Marketing System and Premium Classified Access.

    Today you can purchase this package for just *$12.95 be aware this offer will end anytime.

  75. Frontline Commando 2 Hack Says:

    Thanks for finally writing about >SharePoint Solution Generator Tips | Kerry’s
    SharePoint Blog <Liked it!

  76. dota 2 keys Says:

    People.

    I would to tell you this about this fantastic tool I found for
    Dota 2.
    It generate free keys (keygen), You should download it
    free from
    http://dota2keygen.com/

  77. small business loans Says:

    It’s really a nice and helpful piece of info. I’m satisfied that you just shared this useful info with us.
    Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  78. transport medyczny Kraków Says:

    Hello, transport medyczny Kraków simply wanted to say, I enjoyed this article olej laurowy.
    It actually was practical transport medyczny Kraków.
    Continue on submitting!

  79. athletic greens work Says:

    Super food – 1-2 tubs (primal greens, primal reds).
    But even more concerning was I contacted Jeremy Saffron who is a
    good friend of mine and he told me that he too thought it was
    once good and he did more research and found out it really wasn’t.

    In reality, a number of these pills can help but only if you couple them with lifestyle
    changes.

  80. Alejandro Says:

    Asking questions are truly nice thing if you are not understanding something entirely, except
    this piece of writing presents pleasant understanding even.

  81. annonce libertine Says:

    Wonderful post! We are linking to this particularly great content on our website.

    Keep up the good writing.

  82. san francisco lodging Says:

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article.
    I will be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

  83. blog exchange Says:

    make funds publishing weblogs and discussion boards.

  84. Bridgett Says:

    you are in point of fact a good webmaster. The web site loading pace is incredible.
    It sort of feels that you are doing any unique trick.
    Also, The contents are masterpiece. you’ve performed
    a magnificent process in this matter!

  85. Youtube.com Says:

    Just desire to say your article is as surprising.
    The clarity on your post is simply nice and i
    could suppose you are knowledgeable in this subject.
    Fine together with your permission allow me to seize your RSS feed to keep up to date with approaching post.
    Thank you one million and please carry on the enjoyable work.

  86. Bubble Witch 2 Saga Trucchi Says:

    Excellent way of explaining, and good post to get data regarding my presentation focus, which i
    am going to deliver in university.

  87. Los Mejores Juegos Friv Says:

    Hola me ha gustado mucho tu articulo
    Es conmovedor, buena asesoría la que he encontrado. Muchos besitos.

    Por fin alguien que me lo ha explicado para
    que yo lo puede comprender. Estoy bastante contenta.

    Grande, que contenta estoy, es lo mas. Gracias.

  88. rattlerwire.blogspot.nl Says:

    Thanks A Bunch for this site, can happily declare we currently have
    a steam shower of our very own and we think
    its great

  89. php tasarımı Says:

    Takip ediyorum teşekkür ederim

  90. doğru seo Says:

    Uzun süredir internet sitenizi takip ediyorum teşekkürler

  91. wp tema Says:

    Çok faydalı yazılar paylaşıyorsun teşekkür

  92. KDP Amazon Says:

    This is my first time pay a visit at here and i am actually
    happy to read all at single place.

  93. iphone tripod mount Says:

    I would like to thnkx for the efforts you have put in writing this blog. I am hoping the same high-grade blog post from you in the upcoming as well. In fact your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own blog now. Really the blogging is spreading its wings quickly. Your write up is a good example of it.


Leave a Reply

